Friday, July 4

Thea Gilmore - Sings Sandy Denny (& others)

TG Sings Sandy Denny (& others)
Various sources, mostly live

mostly audience recordings (sound quality range VG- to VG+; the vocals are clear but somewhat distant on the first 4 tracks)

TG sings SD in Liverpool May 2012. Photo by Mudkiss, via Flickr
Thea  Gilmore’s Don’t Stop Singing (2011) is an album of new tunes with words by Sandy Denny — lyrics that had never been set to music during Sandy’s lifetime. The first 10 tracks in this collection are live and alternate versions (plus one older Sandy song). The others are either Thea’s own compositions or covers. In a word, GREAT STUFF!

Repercussion: Peter Holsapple is a big fan of Sandy Denny and Fairport Convention, the best-known band with which Sandy sang. Peter and many of his fellow Continental Drifters were the house band for a multi-artist tribute to the music of Sandy Denny (organized by Peter) in 1998, and they recorded an entire album of Sandy Denny / Fairport Convention / Richard Thompson covers called Listen, Listen.

MANY THANKS to all who recorded & shared these tracks

Thanks to UncleBoko for these photos
from the London SD Tribute Show, May 2012
01 Glistening Bay (live)
02 London (live)
03 Long Time Gone (live)
04 Don't Stop Singing (live)
05 Pain In My Heart (live)
06 Like an Old Fashioned 
     Waltz (live)
07 Georgia (live)
08 Don't Stop Singing 
     (live, acoustic)
09 London (demo)
10 London (live)
11 Thea G interview 
      (re unreleased SD lyrics)

12 Contessa (live session)
13 Red, White and Black
     (live session)
14 To the Bone (acoustic)
15 Old Soul (live session)
16 My Friend, Goodbye (live)

17 I Want to Tell You
     (Beatles cover)
18 Girl from the North 
     Country (Dylan cover)

TT: 1:07:16

1-3 = “The Lady” live tribute to Sandy Denny, The Barbican, London, UK 2012-05-23 (aud)
4 = “The Lady” live tribute to SD, The Anvil, Basingstoke, Hants, UK 2012-05-24 (aud)
5 = Jazz Café, London, UK 2013-03-12 (aud)
6-7 = Cecil Sharp House, London, UK 2012-02-04 (aud)
8 = Andrew Marr television programme, UK 2011-11-20 (TV audio)
9 = undated studio demo subtitled “Work In Progress 2” (sbd)
10 = Great British Folk Festival, 2012 (aud)
11 = BBC Breakfast television programme, 2012-04-21 (TV audio)

12–13 = BBC Radio 2 live session, 2006 (FM)
14 = acoustic version recorded at home by TG (sbd)
15 = from Public Television program “Sun Studios Sessions” 2009 (TV audio)
16 = Union Chapel, London, UK 2012 (aud)

17 = from Mojo magazine’s various-artist compilation Revolver Reloaded, given away with copies of Mojo
18 = BBC Radio 2 special “The Freewheelin’ Bob Dylan” (various artists), May 2013 (spoken intro by BBC DJ Mark Radcliffe)

  Thea's recent album of songs set to Sandy's lyrics is impressive
(see this feature story about it in the UK's Telegraph)

Learn more about the music of Thea  Gilmore

No comments:

Post a Comment

NO SPAM! I monitor all comments for spam & unrelated promo comments, all of which are deleted immediately. Don't waste your time...