Friday, December 21

Sam Phillips - Los Angeles, CA 1991 + bonus 1989

Wiltern Theatre
Los Angeles, CA
June 4, 1991

audience recording (sound quality VG+; full, satisfying sound; little bit of crowd chatter here and there, but nothing too distracting; also a few very brief anomalies that sound like the taper adjusting the mics)
At the time of this show, Sam’s then-current album was Cruel Inventions.
Bill Rogers created this graphic based on the album’s cover image.

01 Go Down
02 Now I Can't Find the Door
03 Standing Still
04 Tripping Over Gravity
05 Cruel Inventions
06 Flame
07 Raised On Promises
08 Lying
09 Trying to Hold On to the Earth
10 These Boots Are Made for Walkin'
Musicians (educated guess re: who played what):
Sam Phillips - vocals, guitar 
Michael Blair - percussion 
Rick Boston - guitar 
T-Bone Burnett (aka "Ogden Nashville") - additional guitar 
Denny Fongheiser - drums Mark Hart - keyboard 
Eric Presley - bass  

Sam was opening for Elvis Costello, who had a 6-night run of shows in 1991, at the Wiltern in L.A. (May 28 & 29, June 3 & 4) and the Greek Theatre in Berkeley (May 31 and June 1). Being the final night of the series, you can hear Sam's confidence and the musical assuredness of the band. Enjoy the gorgeous arrangements, some of which are creative variations on the album versions (not to mention the hilariously sardonic between-song commentary by Sam…).  
Sam Phillips
Boulder's Cover
Boulder, CO
April 1989 (exact date unknown)

FM recording (sound quality VG++; would have graded this Ex- but some recurrent vocal distortion earns it a lower rating [it doesn't ruin the listening experience by any means, but it's noticeable]). I'm guessing this is a radio broadcast of a concert that featured more music, but perhaps this is all that was broadcast or recorded.

Sam is so photogenic that Hollywood came calling, and cast her in one of the "Die Hard" movies back in the 1990s —   as a terrorist!  

01 I Don't Want to Fall In Love
02 The Turning
03 What You Don't Want to Hear
04 Libera Me
05 Carry You
06 Remorse
07 Raised on Promises
08 Flame
09 Trying to Hold On to the Earth
10 Down
11 No One But You
12 These Boots Are Made for Walkin'  

This show captures Sam during a career transition, featuring mostly songs from The Turning (her final "Christian" album under the name Leslie Phillips) and The Indescribable Wow (her first on a "secular" label as Sam Phillips). Both were produced by T-Bone Burnett, whom she married between the recording of the two albums. Apparently, Sam really digs that ol' Nancy Sinatra tune...

Sam Phillips - vocals, guitar
Jeff Campbell - guitar
Michito Sanchez - percussion & drums
David Miner - bass "…and everything else"

Sam's latest fab album is
World On Sticks
Buy it in various formats directly from the artist.

Learn more about the music of Sam Phillips
at her web site &/or AllMusic  

Friday, December 14

Let's Active - The Ritz, NYC 1986 (soundboard)

The Ritz
New York, NY
July 18, 1986

soundboard recording (quality VG++; most of this is in stereo, but I had to make a handful of tracks two-channel mono due to recurring long gaps in one channel; some tape deterioration issues are audible about three fourths of the way through)
With so many blog posts, there are times you just have to put
some random thing here to break up all the words…

ROB SEZ: The highlight of this recording is the performance. Although I miss Faye Hunter's vocals and bass playing, Eric Marshall keeps the tempo where it needs to be, and Mitch is having a very good night in the vocals + guitar department ...COPIOUS THANKS to the taper and to dB’s Fan for his continuing generosity.

01 Waters Part
02 Last Chance Town
03 Talking to Myself
04 Back of a Car (Big Star cover)
05 Writing the Book of Last Pages
06 Leader of Men
07 In Little Ways
08 Fell
09 Prey
10 band intros
11 Whispered News
12 Won't Go Wrong
13 Reflecting Pool
14 Every Word Means No
15 Hot Smoke and Sassafras 
        (Bubble Puppy cover; cuts out mid-song)
16 Swinging Creeper* (Ventures cover)
17 Hush^ (Deep Purple cover)
18 Route 69
19 Godzilla+ (Blue Oyster Cult cover)
NOTE: Track 12 switches from mono to stereo at 1:24

*John French on 2nd guitar
^Matt Piucci of Rain Parade on lead guitar
+Don Dixon on 2nd bass & lead vocals 
TT: 1:04:45

WAV lossless files
Let’s Active:
Mitch Easter (aka "Blind Al Wilson") – guitar, vocals
Angie Carlson – keyboards, backing vocals
Eric Marshall – drums
Dennis Ambrose - bass