Friday, December 27

The dB's - New Year's Eve 1986, Raleigh, NC

The Brewery
Raleigh, NC
Dec. 31, 1986 into the wee hours of Jan. 1, 1987
audience recording (sound quality VG+; a well-balanced, solid-sounding recording).
Gene models the kind of hat all well-dressed  
New Year’s Eve revelers should wear
(a sideways Like This LP jacket!)
01 Any Old Thing
02 She Got Soul
03 Auld Lang Syne -- Never Say When
04 Rains Around Here
05 Lonely Is as Lonely Does
06 Not Cool
07 Never Before and Never Again
08 A Better Place
09 Today Could Be the Day
10 White Train
11 I Lie (end cut, fades out)
12 New Gun In Town
13 Change With the Changing Times
14 Amplifier
15 Love Is for Lovers
16 Witchi-Tai-To (Jim Pepper cover; Will sings lead)*
17 A Spy In the House of Love
18 Why Don't We Do It In the Road?
*16 is a traditional Native American peyote chant set to music (leave it to Will to find something that cool & include it in a dB’s show...)

TT: 78:25

ROB SEZ: A fired-up dB’s play a rowdy New Year’s Eve show — a perfect way to ring in any New Year. During the show, Peter announces (for the first time in public?) that I.R.S. Records has signed The dB’s and that a new album will be recorded and released in 1987. BIG THANKS to TG for recording the show and RIDICULOUS THANKS to dB’s Fan for the share.

These photos were taken at a show in Boston at The Rat in the mid-1980s. But it probably looked a lot like this on New Year's Eve in 1986 at The Brewery in Raleigh.

The dB's:
Peter Holsapple: guitar, vocals
Gene Holder: lead guitar
Will Rigby: drums, backing vocals
Jeff Beninato: bass, backing vocals

Friday, December 20

Los Lobos & friends - Holiday House Party 1992 (FM)

Capitol Recording Studios 
Hollywood, CA 
Oct. 1992 (broadcast Dec. 25, 1992) 
DJ-banter-removed version
* DJ introduction omitted * 
02 Peace
03 Arizona Skies>
04 Borinquen Patria Mia
05 Canto Veracruz
06 Mario from the Bario (Lalo Guerrero)
07 Pancho Claus (Lalo Guerrero)
08 Beat Angel (Rickie Lee Jones, Leo Kottke 
      & John Leftwich)
09 Running Up the Stairs (Rickie Lee Jones, Leo Kottke 
      & John Leftwich)
10 The Christmas Song
11 One Time, One Night
12 Buffalo River Home (John Hiatt)
13 Drive South (John Hiatt)
14 Happy Christmas (War Is Over)
      (John Hiatt & Los Lobos)

01 Colas
02 El Zapateado
03 La Iguana>
04 La Guacamaya
05 Instrumental Medley:
      (Leo Kottke) 
     Available Space>
     June Bug>
     Vaseline Machine Gun>
     Jack Fig
06 I'll Be Home for Christmas
      (Dave Alvin & Rick Solem)
07 Dry River (Dave Alvin & Syd Straw)
08 Golden Dream (Syd Straw 
      & Dave Alvin)
09 O Holy Night (Syd Straw 
      & Rickie Lee Jones)
10 The Christmas Twist
      (Syd Straw & Los Lobos)
11 La Pistola y El Corazon
Find more Los Lobos cheer HERE
12 Kiko & the Lavender Moon
13 What's Goin' On?
ROB SEZ: How about a musical house party for your holiday festivities? Or even if you don't HAVE any festivities to host or attend, this would be a fine substitute. For years, I've been looking for a good excuse to post some Los Lobos music, and now I've got one. Please enjoy — and have an excellent holiday!

Friday, December 13

The dB's - Peppermint Lounge, NYC 1981

The dB's
Peppermint Lounge 
New York, N.Y.
Oct. 11, 1981
audience recording (sound quality VG)
Note: This show marked the US release of Repercussion 
Video capture from a different dB's show at Peppermint Lounge, NYC
01  I Thought (You Wanted to Know)
02  Bad Reputation
03  Dynamite
04  Soul Kiss
05  Judy
06  I Feel Good (Today)
07  pH Balance
08  Tomorrow Never Knows
09  Ups and Downs
10  The Fight
11  Excitement
12  We Were Happy There
13  Happenstance
14  Black and White
15  Whipping Post > Neverland
16  Part 3, final jam session
ROB SEZ: To the original share, I've added track 16, which came from a separate recording. Since the jam includes Peter H — and is from the same night, venue & show — I've included it for the sake of history. HUGE THANKS to the taper and uploader.
The dB’s:
Chris Stamey – guitar & vocals
Peter Holsapple – guitar, keyboard & vocals
Gene Holder – bass
Will Rigby – drums
Peppermint Lounge, NYC — way back when
Uploader’s note: The Individuals opened. The Raybeats followed The dB's and played a very short 3-song set. The grand finale was, believe it or not, a jam session, with Peter joined onstage by various members of the Bush Tetras, Au Pairs, and Malaria. Included is Part 3 of the jam (first two parts are lost).

Friday, December 6

Balderdash, Ltd. (Mitch Easter) - Charlotte, N.C. 2019

The Evening Muse 
Charlotte, N.C.
March 1, 2019

audience recording (sound quality: VG++; another excellent Batchain recording)

Balderdash, Ltd. is Mitch Easter's new band

Mitch (right) and Balderdash, Ltd. - last month at Mitch's N.C. Music Hall of Fame induction

01 You / Me

02 Rogues*
03 Ode to a Tin Angel (Hearts & Flowers cover)
04 Rock & Roll Love Letter (Bay City Rollers cover) 
05 Hello Susie (The Move cover)
06 Sudden Crown Drop
07 Get Free+
08 Ton of Bricks
09 Psyched-Out (The Ventures cover)
10 Waters Part
*Rogues is a song Mitch demoed in the early 1990s, but never officially released
+Get Free is a song Mitch wrote that ended up on the Shalini album We Want Jelly Donuts (rel. 2000)
ROB SEZ: Thanks to Batchain (aka Larry T.), we can celebrate Mitch's recent induction into the North Carolina Music Hall of Fame in style. At the induction ceremony last month, Mitch and his band, Balderdash Ltd., played a live set at the Gem Theatre in Kannapolis, N.C. Like Gravel Truck and other Mitch-led band efforts, Balderdash, Ltd. functions as a vehicle to play music from several eras of Mitch's history: Let's Active, solo material, and the obscure-but-choice covers he relishes.

Mitch & Balderdash, Ltd. - Atlanta, GA 2018
(photo by John Boydston; this & other photos from the show included in download)

Here's a video Batchain shot at the Charlotte show