Friday, June 26

Three O'Clock - 1st Reunion Show, Pomona, CA 2013 (aud)

The Glass House 
Pomona, CA
April 6, 2013
audience recording (sound quality: VG; from the master recording; everything sounds really good, but the vocals are low-ish in the mix)

01 stage entrance
02 Simon In the Park
03 With a Cantaloupe
04 When Lightning Starts
05 I Go Wild

06 Lucifer Sam (Pink Floyd cover)
07 Upside Down 
08 As Real As Real
09 Fall to the Ground
10 On My Own
11 Knowing When You Smile
12 Marjorie Tells Me
13 Stupid Einstein
14 In My Own Times
15 Sorry
16 Going Home
17 Jet Fighter
18 Her Head's Revolving
19 pre-encore applause
20 And So We Run
21 Feel a Whole Lot Better
      (The Byrds cover)

22 Mind Gardens
Michael Quercio at Coachella 2013 by Thomas Hawk via Flickr
(more photos from Coachella are in the download)

ROB SEZ: Here's a story: Michael Quercio had been steadfastly resisting requests for a Three O'Clock reunion until Coachella offered them a slot for the 2013 festival — and that did it. In the run-up to Coachella, the band played some additional gigs, including this one — the first in 23 years, since the 1990 show posted here last week. Four days after this, the band played live on Conan O'Brien (see below)ALL PRAISES to Milocampo who recorded and shared this one.
The Three O'Clock plays "With a Cantaloupe Girlfriend" on Conan in 2013




Friday, June 19

Three O'Clock - Live 1985 + 1990

London, UK
Sept. 4, 1985 
audience recording (sound quality: VG-)
01 stage entrance, tuning
02 Her Head's Revolving
"Jet Fighter" video shoot so very groovy
03 Each and Every 
     Lonely Heart
04 When Lightning Starts
05 In My Own Time
06 Mrs. Green
07 Underwater
08 talking 
09 I Go Wild
10 Knowing When You Smile 
11 Half the Way There
12 Hand In Hand
13 The Girl With a Guitar
14 Stupid Einstein 
15 Spun Gold 
16 Sorry
17 Jet Fighter
18 Going Home
19 pre-encore applause
20 It's All Too Much
21 No Matter What
22 pre-encore applause
23 With a Cantaloupe Girlfriend
24 Paperback Writer (The Beatles)
Club Lingerie
Los Angeles, CA
March 13, 1990
soundboard recording (quality: Ex-; sourced from master tape)
* the band's final show before announcing their split; with Jason Falkner on guitar & backing vocals *
The Three O'Clock at Paisley Park: beginning of the end
01 With a Cantaloupe Girlfriend+
02 When Lightning Starts*
03 I Go Wild+
04 Stupid Einstein*
05 In My Own Time*
06 Sorry+
07 Jet Fighter
08 Mind Gardens^
09 Desdemona
      (John’s Children / Marc Bolan cover)

Note: symbols indicate the album on which each song originally appeared —
+Baroque Hoedown
*16 Tambourines
^Salvation Army (pre-Three O’Clock band & album of same name)
“Jet Fighter” was a stand alone single

ROB SEZ: You can't avoid The Three O'Clock if, like me, you enjoy a variety of alternative music from the 1980s. This is especially true if you appreciate the so-called "Paisley Underground" bands from that era. Liking The Three O'Clock, however, is a different matter. Frontman Michael Quercio's singing voice is one that creates strongly divided opinions. I heard about the group decades ago, sampled their music, and concluded "Um ... I don't think so." Recently re-visiting the band's music convinced me I should give the guys another chance. I'm glad I did. HUGE THANKS to the tapers, Stachelbar for sharing the 1985 recording, and to Milocampo for sharing the 1990 show. Recommended reading: Mick Dillingham's excellent "The Story of the Three O'Clock."
The Three O'Clock:
Michael Quercio - lead vocals, bass
Louis Gutierrez - guitar, vocals (1985 performance)
Mike Mariano - keyboards, vocals
Danny Benair - drums, vocals
Jason Falkner - guitar, vocals (1990 performance)


Friday, June 12

Let's Active - Rutger's Univ., N.J. 1986 (aud)

The Rose Room
Rutger's University
New Brunswick, NJ
March 4, 1986
audience recording (sound quality: VG; transfer from first-generation tape)
He had a hunch that, eventually, I would use
the watermelon photo. Sorry about that, Mitch…
Creem magazine photo
ROB SEZ:  I got an unexpected surprise when I was digitizing dBF’s tape and heard Mitch welcome Gene Holder as part of the show’s live ensemble. I’m guessing the band at this point didn’t have a permanent bassist. Since Gene was living in Hoboken, Mitch called up his old friend to play the gig. Nice little coincidence. Mitch & Co. put the emphasis on tunes from the about-to-be-released Big Plans for Everybody (my favorite Let's Active album). Gotta love those encores, with 3 killer covers in a row! THANK YOU KINDLY to the taper and the usual HUGE THANKS to dB’s Fan for the share.

01 Waters Part
02 Ornamental
The band, circa 1986
Y'all remember "Thing" from The Munsters?
I'm getting a flashback due to this photo...
03 Writing the Book of Last Pages  
04 Leader of Men
05 Talking to Myself
06 Still Dark Out
07 Crows On a Phone Line
08 In Between
09 Every Word Means No
10 Reflecting Pool
11 In Little Ways
12 Won't Go Wrong
13 Last Chance Town
14 Prey
15 Hush (Deep Purple cover)
16 Back of a Car (Big Star cover)
17 He's a Whore (Cheap Trick cover)

TT: 65:37 mins.


Let's Active:
Mitch Easter – guitars & vocals
Angie Carlson – keyboard & vocals
Eric Marshall – drums
Gene Holder – bass

Friday, June 5

The dB's - St. Louis, MO 1985 (FM)

Mississippi Nights
St. Louis, MO
Feb. 26, 1985

FM recording (sound quality: VG+; only potential distraction is some recurring vocal distortion)
The dB's made a strategic decision in the 1980s 
to save money on haircuts & buy leather

01 Spitting In the Wind
Bottom one is for a dB’s show at Miss. Nights in '88
02 Rendezvous
03 Big Brown Eyes
04 Not Cool
05 I Lie
06 See No Evil
     (Television cover)
07 pH Factor
08 She Got Soul
09 Amplifier
10 I Am the Cosmos
     (Chris Bell cover)
11 band intros + Neverland
12 Love Is for Lovers
13 She'll Be Coming 'Round 
     the Mountain
14 Black and White
15 A Spy In the House of Love
16 Suspicious Minds
17 Money (That's What I Want)

ROB SEZ: If you snag this one and give a listen, you'll not only hear an energetic club show with good sound quality, you'll also enjoy some rare gems — most notably the cover of "I Am the Cosmos", Big  Star founder Chris Bell's only solo single. HUGE THANKS to the taper and Glenn S for sharing.

WAV lossless files 


The dB’s:
Gene Holder – lead guitar
Will Rigby - drums, vocals
Peter Holsapple - vocals, guitar
Jeff Beninato - bass, vocals

Above, one of
Peter's favorite
touring band
line-ups, with
Gene on lead guitar
and Jeff on bass
and backing vocals