Friday, June 27

Velvet Crush - Osaka, Japan 1994 + bonus

Club Quattro
Osaka, Japan
July 25, 1994

audience recording

sound quality: VG+ (quite good sound from master tape source; very little crowd noise — except when you expect & want it with a club show like this)

Velvet Crush served up tasty musical caffeine from 1990 to 2004

REPERCUSSION: Mitch Easter not only produced VC’s acclaimed Teenage Symphonies to God album, he also joined the band as a supplemental guitarist for a coupla weeks on the subsequent tour (including this show). And the other “name” non-band-member guitarist who toured later with the band? That was Tommy Keene

HIGHLIGHTS: this one's all highlight; a really exceptional performance...

Mitch E, on tour with Velvet Crush
01 stage entrance (pre-recorded music)
02 Window to the World
03 My Blank Pages
04 Ash and Earth
05 Time Wraps Around You (false start)
06 Time Wraps Around You
07 Atmosphere
08 Weird Summer
09 White Soul
10 Oh Candy (etc.) medley
11 Drive Me Down
12 Hold Me Up --> So You Want to Be a 
     Rock & Roll Star
13 Rock and Roll Queen
     (Mott the Hoople cover)
14 Elevator Operator (Gene Clark cover)

15 Window to the World (Japanese TV)
16 Hold Me Up (Conan O'Brien)
17 My Blank Pages (Met Cafe)
18 Atmosphere (Denmark '95)

1-14 = audience recording, per above info
15 = Japanese TV broadcast, Aug. 1992
16 = Conan O'Brien show 1995
17 = Met Cafe, Providence, RI (undated)
18 = Denmark, Jan. 1995 (sbd) 

TT: 1:15:35 

MP3@320 (tracks 15-18 = 256kbps) 

Velvet Crush:
Paul Chastain – vocals, bass
Ric Menck – drums, vocals
Jeffrey Borchardt (Underhill) – guitar
Mitch Easter - guitar (tracks 1-14, 16)
REVEALED: who plays that awesome guitar solo in "Hold Me Up"
Learn more about the music of Velvet Crush at Trouser Press and AllMusic
Wanna hear more VC live shows like this one? has a bunch in lossless... 

No comments:

Post a Comment

NO SPAM! I monitor all comments for spam & unrelated promo comments, all of which are deleted immediately. Don't waste your time...