Friday, January 19

Lone Justice - Band On the Verge (demos + live)

The Record Plant
New York, NY
Aug. 4-5, 1987
demo recording sessions 

soundboard recordings (quality: VG+ to VG++)

SAMPLE: "Friends for A While" (demo 1987)

Lone Justice: happier in the early days...

01 Panic Beach
02 Much Too Good at Goodbye 
03 Little Diva & Sugar Jones
04 Nobody's Child
05 Friends for a While
06 Friends for a While
07 Little Diva & Sugar Jones
08 Panic Beach
09 Much Too Good at Goodbye
10 Nobody's Child
Record Plant, Los Angeles, CA Dec. 1983
11 Working Late
xx Drugstore Cowboy*
13 Don't Toss Us Away
xx The Train*
15 I See It
Maria McKee - live bonus tracks
16 I'm Gonna Soothe You
17 I Can't Make It Alone
18 Shelter
19 Then You Can Tell Me Goodbye 
* tracks marked "xx" were officially released on 
    This World Is Not My Home & have been removed
16-18 Tower Records, San Francisco, CA 1993-10-05
19 World Café, WXPN Philadelphia, PA 1993-09-03

EXTRA THANKS to for the great remastering job and to lolita 
& others for sharing

Paradise Rock Club
Boston, MA
Dec. 17, 1986

FM recording (sound quality VG++;
     WBCN radio broadcast)

01 You Are the Light
02 Working Late
03 Wait 'til We Get Home
04 Sweet, Sweet Baby
     (I'm Falling)
05 This World Is Not 
Lone Justice, Mach II (1986 to 1987)
     My Home 
06 Ways to Be Wicked
07 Wheels
08 Shelter 
09 Belfry
10 I Found Love
11 A Little Bit of Heaven 
12 Inspiration
13 Soap, Soup & Salvation
14 announcer - encore break
15 Sweet Jane
16 radio outro

Maria McKee - vocals, guitar 
Shane Fontayne - guitar
Greg Sutton - bass, vocals
Rudy Richman - drums | Bruce Brody - keyboards

Transferred from master tape source; a this and that production 
SINCERE THANKS to glasnostrd19 for sharing
Lone Justice, early days at L.A.'s Palomino Club
ROB SEZ: Late 1986 marked the beginning of the end for Lone Justice. Dubbed the "Next Big Thing" by the music press, the group began life as a cowpunk band in Los Angeles in the early 1980s. When the likes of Linda Ronstadt and Jimmy Iovine heard Maria McKee's voice, they recognized a rare, red-hot talent, and Iovine became the band's manager. No less than Bob Dylan, Tom Petty & Little Steven all contributed to the self-titled debut album, released in 1985 by Geffen Records. Despite catchy, well-performed songs like Petty's "Ways to Be Wicked" and Little Steven's "Sweet, Sweet Baby (I'm Falling)", sales were below expectations. After the fact, Lone Justice was judged too country for rock radio and too rock for country stations. (Too bad "alt. country" & Americana weren't in vogue yet.)
After tours supporting U2 and Tom Petty, all band members except McKee went their separate ways. A new band was assembled for 1986's Shelter, the second album — a patchy, overly slick affair (Iovine & Geffen wanted to turn the group into an MOR, arena rock juggernaut). Although Shelter featured strong original songs by McKee, sales remained disappointing. After a live tour, the group spent part of 1987 demoing new material. Soon after, the 23 year-old McKee was persuaded she might find greater success as a solo act ... and Lone Justice was no more.
Think of this collection as the audio diary of a promising band on the verge of falling apart.

Learn more about Lone Justice' music 


NO SPAM! I monitor all comments for spam & unrelated promo comments, all of which are deleted immediately. Don't waste your time...