Friday, September 18

The Reivers - Victoria, BC 1991 (aud)

Harpo's Cabaret
Victoria, British Columbia 
Aug. 1, 1991
audience recording (sound quality: VG; from "crowflies" master tape source)

01 intro
02 Other Side
03 Walking the Cow
04 Ragamuffin Man
05 What You Wanna Do? 
06 Wherehaus Jamb
07 A Test
08 Translate Slowly
09 Keep Me Guessing
10 Inside Out
11 What Am I Doing?
12 He Will Settle It
13 It's About Time
14 Almost Home
15 Over and Over
16 Baby
17 Wait for Time
18 pre-encore break
19 Shattered (Rolling Stones cover)
20 Cowboy Song (Thin Lizzy cover)

The Reivers:
John Croslin - vocals & guitar
Kim Longacre - vocals & guitar 
Cindy Toth - bass & violin
Garrett Williams - drums

ROB SEZ: I'm posting this in response to a request from Simon, who asked if I had any ROIOs of The Reivers, an Austin band that might be known to some followers of this blog. They were part of something called the "New Sincerity" movement — which didn't last very long, as far as I can tell. To my ears, the Reivers' music is a mix of fast folk and rock, with a touch of Americana thrown in. The band made some strong albums, which are worth seeking out. BIG THANKS to "crowflies" for recording this one and to Dennis O. for sharing. Please enjoy.


  1. Rob...thank you so much for this....really looking forward to listening...nice posters too...I bought the Flight of Mavis album on the same day I picked up Tommy Keene's Based on Happy Times....30 years ago and still two of my favourite albums....really appreciate this post...thanks....Simon, Manchester UK

  2. Many thanks for this. Love The Reivers!


NO SPAM! I monitor all comments for spam & unrelated promo comments, all of which are deleted immediately. Don't waste your time...