Friday, November 7

Lake Street Dive - Live Sessions 2011-2014

Live Sessions
2011 - 2014

miscellaneous live appearances
web streams (various sources)

Lake Street Dive: a young band to watch — and listen to, right now.

ROB SEZ: Lake Street Dive caught my wife's ear when she heard the band recently on the radio. "Honey, listen to this song. Ever heard of 'em?" No, I hadn't. But after one brief exposure, I had to hear more. A relatively young, Brooklyn-by-way-of-Boston band, they combine soul, pop & rock with a sometimes-jazzy flourish. Lead vocalist Rachael Price has some seriously compelling chops, and the rest of the band is every bit a match for her talent.

snazzy drawing of LSD by Brett Affrunti
01 Clear a Space
02 Got Me Fooled
03 Hello, Goodbye!
04 Bobby Tanqueray
05 Be Cool
06 Seventeen
07 Better Than
08 Just Ask
09 You Go Down Smooth
10 Look at What Mistake
11 Bad Self Portraits
12 Stop Your Crying
13 Miss Disregard
14 Wedding Band
15 Second Hand News
16 Dedicated to the One I Love
17 Afternoon Delight

1-3 = Music Fog session, Americana Fest, Nashville, TN April 2011
4-6 = Oregon Public Broadcasting, Live Session 2013-10-31
7-9 = KEXP-FM, Seattle, WA 2013-11-02
10 = Garden Session, Radio Woodstock (N.Y.) 2014-06-21
11, 12 = Old Settler's Music Fest, Driftwood, TX Spring 2014
13 = SXSW 2012 'Showcasing Artist' teaser
14 = SXSW 2013 'Showcasing Artist' teaser
15-17 = audio from LSD Halloween Videos, 2011, 2012, 2013 (respectively)

Lake Street Dive:
Rachael Price – lead vocals
Mike Olson – guitar, trumpet
Mike Calabrese – drums, vocals
Bridget Kearney – bass, vocals

The band's latest is called Bad Self-Portraits. Learn more about the music of Lake Street Dive at the band's web site and/or AllMusic  Get a free & legal album sampler of the band's music at NoiseTrade.

No comments:

Post a Comment

NO SPAM! I monitor all comments for spam & unrelated promo comments, all of which are deleted immediately. Don't waste your time...