Friday, December 27

Big Star - Portland, OR 2002

Portland, OR
Dec. 28, 2002
11th Anniversary of this show
Happy Birthday LX Chilton (R.I.P.)

audience recording (sound quality VG; good sound for a club show; audience is enthused but respectful, so no crowd noise issues; there’s very slight distortion on occasion, but it’s not a big deal)

Big Star onstage in 2009, a year before Alex's death
C. Batka / NYTimes photo

HOLIDAY GOOD CHEER & SPECIAL THANKS to The Fool for generously sharing this show with me, and thanks to the taper and whoever was the first to share…

01 In the Street
02 Don't Lie to Me
03 When My Baby's Beside Me
04 I Am the Cosmos
05 Way Out West
06 Till the End of the Day (Kinks cover)
07 The Ballad of El Goodo
Big Star's latest: Nothing Can Hurt Me
an archival release, on Omnivore Records;
all tracks previously unreleased; GO BUY IT!
08 Back of a Car
09 Daisy Glaze
10 Thirteen
11 Baby Strange (T. Rex cover)
12 For You
13 Feel
14 September Gurls
15 Thank You Friends
16 Happy Birthday Alex Chilton
17 Slut
18 Patti Girl
19 Hot Thing
20 Big Black Car
21 Jesus Christ

Big  Star:
Jon Auer - guitar, vocals
LX Chilton - lead vocals, guitar
Jody Stephens - drums, vocals
Ken Stringfellow - bass, vocals

1 comment:

NO SPAM! I monitor all comments for spam & unrelated promo comments, all of which are deleted immediately. Don't waste your time...