Friday, October 18

Whiskey town – Forever Valentine (with CS)

Forever Valentine
December 1997

1997 sessions with Chris Stamey

soundboard recordings (quality range: VG++ to Ex-; very listenable stuff; enjoy)

REPERCUSSION: From 1996-'97, Chris Stamey spent many weeks either playing bass for Whiskey town demo sessions or producing them, or both. Chris also re-mixed the album Faithless Street when it was reissued in 1998. When Ryan Adams became a solo artist, band mate Caitlin Cary did the same, and Chris produced several projects for Cary. Much more recently, Adams shared an unused song of his, "Universe-Sized Arms", that appeared on Chris' 2015 album Euphoria.

01 Anyone But Me (aka, Dial Tone)
02 Don’t Wanna Know Why
03 Easy Hearts
04 Sittin’ Around
05 Rays of Burning Light (aka, Rays of Light)
06 Ghost Without Memory
07 Runnin’ Out of Road
08 Can’t Take a Lover (aka, Talkin’ In My Sleep)
09 Think About Me (aka, [What You] Think About Me)
10 Crazy Lonesome (aka, A Memory Away)
11 Caroline

12 Losering (demo)
13 Everything I Do (demo)
14 New York Angel
15 Only to Lose
16 San Antone
17 All You Can Feel
18 Hipshake

Tracks 1-11: Forever Valentine sessions, Dec. 1997, Scores/Slackmates, Raleigh, NC and Modern Recording, Chapel Hill, NC

Tracks 12 & 13: Pre-Stranger’s Almanac sessions, Dec. 1996, Captured Live!, Durham, NC & Modern Recording, Chapel Hill, with Chris Stamey on bass

Tracks 14-18: Those Weren’t the Days sessions, 1996

HQ MP3  (Forever Valentine tracks = 320 kbps, others = 192 kbps)

NONE of the above appears on any of the official 
Whiskey town releases, including the reissues.
Disclaimer: Chris Stamey had nothing to do with my 
obtaining these to share here; 
these recordings have been floating around 
trading circles for a good while...

Comments about the Forever Valentine sessions from
Skillet Gilmore: "Forever Valentine was recorded around Xmas '97. The band at the time (for the purposes of recording) was Ryan, Caitlin, Mike Daly, Ed Crawford on guitar, Chris Stamey on bass, and me." "Although the record was made in about a week, the challenge was actually that Ryan wanted to make a record without the label knowing about it. And so we did."
Chris Stamey: "Skillet played drums, I played bass. Recorded in Raleigh at Scores/Slackmates, and at Modern, my place. The piano player … was Ben Folds." 

No comments:

Post a Comment

NO SPAM! I monitor all comments for spam & unrelated promo comments, all of which are deleted immediately. Don't waste your time...