Friday, February 1


The dB’s
Demos & Live
Darn right: artwork included in download!

SAMPLE: "White Train 2 (demo)"

01 Love Is for Lovers (live)* 
02 She Got Soul #1 (demo)^
03 Spitting In the Wind (live)+
04 Lonely Is as Lonely Does (demo)^
05 Not Cool (demo)^
06 Amplifier (live)+
07 A Spy In the House of Love (live)+ [brief dropout at 4:31]
08 Rendezvous (live)+
09 New Gun In Town (live)#
10 On the Battlefront (demo)^
11 White Train #2 (demo)^
12 Darby Hall (demo)^
13 Elvis, What Happened? (demo)^
14 Love Is for Lovers (demo)^

*The Blue Note, Columbia, MO 1984-07-16 aud
^Demo 1982-83 (tracks 02 and 11 have extra numbers in the titles because there was more than one version of the same song in the full demos set)
+Cat's Cradle, Chapel Hill, NC 1985-03-26 FM
#Cabaret Metro, Chicago, IL 1984-12-05 FM

IF YOU ENJOY THIS ONE, be sure to check out my earlier post of The dB's 
debut album, Stands for deciBels REVISITED. It's HERE 

ROB SEZ: Instead of just posting the fairly common Demos 1982-83 set, I decided to use a selection of them plus some live tracks to create a “Like This REVISITED” comp. The dB’s third album is a triumph, especially given several big challenges — not the least of which was Chris leaving the band just as The dB’s were finally getting their first U.S. record deal.

In case you’re not familiar with them, the demos date from that transitional time after the release of Repercussion, just before Chris left the group, and before the Peter-led dB’s signed with Bearsville Records in 1984. The source is probably a multi-generation cassette dub, so the sound quality is a tad muddy at times and there’s a bit of hiss on some tracks. I did my best to clean them up.

The live tracks are standouts from 3 shows during the “Like This” tour: Columbia, MO, July 16, 1984 (The Blue Note); Chapel Hill, NC, March 16, 1985 (Cat’s Cradle); and Chicago, IL, Dec. 5, 1984 (Cabaret Metro). The first is a VG+ quality audience recording and the latter two are FM broadcasts. As usual, I used lossless sources for all the above. BIG THANKS to all the tapers and sharers, especially TheBynumite for his FM capture of the Cat’s Cradle show! NOTE: don't be put off by the less-than-perfect sound quality of Track 1 -- the remaining tracks sound considerably better.

The “bonus tracks” for this collection are: the demo of “Darby Hall” (which was a bonus track on the original CD release), the demo of “Elvis, What Happened?” (Peter must've had a serious Elvis fetish before the scales fell from his eyes…), and a couldn’t-resist-it repeat of the album’s first song, in demo form.

For extra enjoyment, read Peter’s essay about writing “Love Is for Lovers” and hear an excerpt from the original demo of “Do You Believe This?” at a New York Times blog here:
Like This, the original album,
appears to be out of print
Are you listening, benevolent record label people??


  1. Hey, these Like This demos and live tracks are really great! Astonishing that that CD could be out of print.

    Hearing the live "Amplifier" reminded me of the track that at one time was on the db's website (might still be there) of a version of "Amplifier," created (so the story goes) when a musician who had auditioned for a position as an on tour guitarist with The db's did not think he had gotten his full abilities across and so sent back a track with loads of guitar riffs and effects layered onto Amplifier. I love the track, as it's so over the top, not just the guitars but also the intro of his girlfriend supposedly smashing stuff. Plus I actually like pop music with a nutty guitarist on top (think Matthew Sweet with Lloyd or Quine).

    I am sure you know about that track, but if not check it out.

    Ace K.

    1. Thanks, Ace. I had a great time putting it together.

      Yes -- that version of Amplifier is hilarious, and last time I looked at, it was still there!